2007 Award Winners

 2007 MCA Awards

The following are the MCA Award Winners. A team of judges lead by Saul Rivkin walked the showfield on Saturday seeking out noteworthy Merkurs and meeting their owners. This year's competition was especially tough and the number of awards was expanded to 22. Below are listed the award winners that recieved their awards during a ceremony at the Carlisle awards banquet held at teh Holiday Inn, Mechanicsburg. Special thanks go out to the judges who gave up their time to view all the cars, and to all the award winners for a spectacular showing of Merkurs!

Long Distance Award

    Saul Lipton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Colin Doyle, St. Cloud, MN
Shawn Mangan, Flordia

Merkur Innovation Award

    Mario Prisc
Bob Saffian
Dimitri Wittal
Eric and Taryn Cotos

Merkur Preservation Award

    Chuck Draksler
Saul Rivkin
Frank Cheh
Larry Hallenback

 Freundschaft Entlang der Strabe
(Friendship along the road)

    Don Sweigart
Andrew West

 Best in Show XR4Ti

    Brian Allen

 Best in Show Scorpio

    Jack middleton

 Roland Zuk Award for Outstanding Engineering

    David Lockhart

 Merkur Rat-Rod Award

    Colin Doyle

Eve Ziminski Spirit Award

    Taryn Cotos presented to Peter Orlinski in memory of Rose Datil

 MCA Member of the Year

    Kenny Heck

Meguiar’s Choice Award

Rob Booth

Most Enjoyed Merkur

Paul-Michael Van Hook

MCA Distinguished Honor Award

David Wilkinson


2007 'Fun Field' Awards





Stock & Modified XR4Ti




George Schultz

Lynn Krause

Sean Hanson


Tony Bradburn

Shawn Mangan

Jeff Labonte

Stock XR4Ti




David Graham Baylor

James Ritchie


Larry Hallenback

Andrew West

Frank Cheh


Paul West

Jack Middleton

Scott Williams

Modified XR4Ti      


Mario Prisc David Wilkinson Anthony Pinardi
   1988 James Allen Erik & Taryn Cotos Robert Barrett
   1989 Rich Franco Rich Curtis

Stock Scorpio





Norman Tannehill

Saul Rivkin

Chuck Draksler

Modified Scorpio





Paul-Michael Van Hook

Dimitri Wittal

Celebrity Pick Award by Brad Anesi: Rob Booth, 1988 XR4Ti - Modified
Celebrity Pick Award by Bill Miller III: Phillip Marshall, 1986 XR4Ti - Modified

A listing of all winners in all classes is availalbe here.

Copyright 2010 Merkur Club of America
Merkur, XR4Ti, Scorpio and the Merkur logo are trademarks of the Ford Motor Company

This page was last updated: Saturday, January 30, 2010 10:37 PM